In just about any relationship, somewhere along the way a question is posed: What’s your favorite season?  This may happen more often to those of us who live in places where each season has a distinctive feel than it does to those who live in places where winter just means “less hot”.

The answer, for myself and I suspect only a handful of others, is Autumn.  Most folks regard autumn as the end of summer.  Or, worse, the dreaded beginning of winter. But, if you don’t approach winter with the same sense of dread as you do our new Trump administration, fall is a great time of year.

img_2680

The weather, for instance, is just about perfect.  During the day, the humidity is usually low, well below my boiling point.  I like that.  It’s nice not having to require a full-time IV drip of water.  On the sunny days, I feel less weighed down than I do in the summer.  The air is a little cooler, lighter.  Cool air is a little more dense as well so you feel like you’re getting more air into your lungs.  I’m more likely to be excited about hiking in the fall than I am during the summer.  While it’s still a workout, at least I can reach the destination without turning into a quivering pool of sweat.

img_3552

The nights cool off more quickly too.  This makes sleeping much easier.  The downside to that is that when it comes time to wake up it’s still kinda dark and you have that nice, cool air coming into your lungs but you also have that big, warm blanket over you, holding in the warmth, it’s impossible to get out of bed.  Partially because this is about as comfortable as it’s possible for me to be, but also because I know it’s cold out there.

img_2792

In the mornings, on my drive to work I look forward to the breaks in the fog and clouds.  You drive for miles through the dense fog where you can’t see anything and then as the body of water you’re near moves away, it clears and you have this beautifully clear and crisp view.  Everything seems brighter and more in focus.

img_2788

And to top it all off, there’s the color.  Let’s face it, even if you enjoy winter, it’s brown, gray and dreary unless you get that nice fresh layer of crisp, white snow.  The summer, at least in Vermont, is green…everywhere.  The spring is brown and gray with that salty snow residue at the sides of all the roads with little hints of green here and there as things start to grow again. But, in the fall, it’s different.  The green of the grass and the evergreen trees make for a great contrast against the changing leaves. The yellows, oranges, and reds combine with those lush greens to make it the most beautiful and easily the most colorful time of year. One of my favorite views is a nice green lawn/field with the amazing foliage hanging over it.  Either that, or, a winding road with a canopy of trees.  Smugglers Notch on a sunny autumn weekday is one of the most beautiful drives anywhere. I say weekday because it’s true that at this time of year, Vermont’s weekends are absolutely packed with tourists coming to see exactly what I’m talking about and your average speed will be somewhere between glacial and non-existent. At least it gives your passenger lots of time to take pictures for you.

img_3422

Autumn marks the beginning of Vermont’s busy seasons.  It starts with the influx of “flat-landers” coming to peep our leaves and then it continues right into the winter with snowmobilers and skiers and ice fisherman and on and on.  I do admit it can be hard some days to appreciate the fall because it leads into the coldest and snow and ice filled time of year.  But, if you look forward to winter – or can at least look past it – every other season is much less beautiful.

To end, I will also say that while I do normally try to use my own mediocre photography with my posts, I took this opportunity to showcase my brothers’ abilities.  More pictures of things and cars (shocker, I know.) can be found here!

